en	[[!meta title="Resetting a USB stick using macOS"]]

en	[[!inline pages="doc/reset.intro" raw="yes" sort="age"]]
zh-tw	[[!inline pages="doc/reset.intro.zh_TW" raw="yes" sort="age"]]

en	<div class="caution">

en	You might overwrite any hard disk on the computer.

en	If at some point you are not sure about which device to choose, stop proceeding.

en	</div>

en	Make sure that the USB stick that you want to reset is unplugged.

en	Start Disk Utility.
zh-tw	打開磁碟工具.

en	A list of all the storage devices on the computer appears in the left pane of the window.
zh-tw	在視窗左側面板上 會出現一個電腦上所有儲存設備的清單

en	Plug in the USB stick that you want to reset.
zh-tw	電腦插上 USB 隨身碟。

en	A new device appears in the list of storage devices. This new device corresponds to the USB stick that you plugged in. Click on it.

en	In the list of storage devices, verify that the device corresponds to the USB stick that you want to reset, its brand, its size, etc.

en	To reset the USB stick:

en	a. If there is an Erase tab in the right pane, click on it and then click on the Erase button on the bottom right
zh-tw	a. 在右側面板上有一個 清除 分頁 點開它並按下底部右方的 清除鍵。

en	b. If there is an Erase button on the top middle, click on it.
zh-tw	b. 在中間上方有一個 清除鍵，請點擊它。

en	In the confirmation dialog, click on the Erase button to confirm.
zh-tw	在確認的對話視窗中，按下清除鍵以確認。

en	In the **Erase** dialog, if you want the USB stick to also work on Windows and Linux, specify:

en	**Format**: **MS-DOS (FAT)**

en	**Scheme**: **Master Boot Record**

en	Click **Erase**.

en	<div class="note">

en	If the erase process fails, try [[!toggle id="format" text="formatting the USB stick using the command line"]] first.
zh-tw	如果清除操作失敗，請試著[[!toggle id="format" text="利用文字命令操作來格式化 USB 隨身磁"]]。

en	[[!toggleable id="format" text="""

en	[[!toggle id="format" text=""]]

en	Resetting a USB stick using the command line
zh-tw	使用文字指令行來進行格式化

en	Unplug the USB stick from the computer.
zh-tw	電腦上拔除 USB 隨身碟。

en	Open the **Terminal** utility from **Applications**&nbsp;▸ **Utilities**.

en	Execute the following command.

en	diskutil list
zh-tw	打開磁碟工具.

en	It returns a list of the storage devices on the system. For example:
zh-tw	如果它傳回一個系統上的儲存設備清單，例如像：

en	/dev/disk0 #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER 0: GUID_partition_scheme *500.1 GB disk0 1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1 2: Apple_HFS MacDrive 250.0 GB disk0s2 3: EFI 134.1 GB disk0s3 4: Microsoft Basic Data BOOTCAMP 115.5 GB disk0s4

en	Execute again the same command.

en	Your USB stick appears as a new device in the list. Check that its size corresponds to the size of your USB stick.
zh-tw	你的 USB 隨身碟會出現在清單上的一個新設備。檢查 它的容量大小是否符合你的USB 隨身碟

en	/dev/disk1 #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER 0: FDisk_partition_scheme *8.0 GB disk1 1: Apple_HFS Untitled 1 8.0 GB disk1s1
zh-tw	$ diskutil list /dev/disk0 #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER 0: GUID_partition_scheme *500.1 GB disk0 1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1 2: Apple_HFS MacDrive 250.0 GB disk0s2 3: EFI 134.1 GB disk0s3 4: Microsoft Basic Data BOOTCAMP 115.5 GB disk0s4

en	Take note of the device name of your USB stick.

en	In this example, the USB stick is 8.0 GB and its device name is /dev/disk1. Yours might be different.

en	If you are unsure about the device name, you should stop proceeding or you risk overwriting any hard disk on the system.
zh-tw	如果不確定設備名稱，你最好停止操作否則 會造成覆寫掉系統上任何一顆硬碟的風險.

en	Execute the following command to safely eject the USB stick. Replace device with the device name found in step 6.
zh-tw	執行以下指令來安全地移除USB 隨身磁，取代 [device] 在步驟6所找出的設備名稱。

en	diskutil unmountDisk device

en	Execute the following command to format the USB stick. Replace device with the device name found in step 6.
zh-tw	執行以下指令來格式化 USB 隨身磁，取代 [device] 在步驟6所找出的設備名稱。

en	sudo fdisk -iy device

en	You can try to reset the USB stick again using Disk Utility from the beginning of this page.
zh-tw	你可以試著使用本頁開始的 磁碟工具 來重置 USB 隨身磁。